Make Connecting With You Easy

If you want more people to invite you to be a connection one thing you can do it to make it easier to connect with you is publish your email address in your name or current occupation spot.  In your name is my favorite spot, it is hard to miss when it is part of your name.  There is another post here that tells you how to add your email to your name.  Some may feel putting your email in your occupation spot is better.  I have to admit that having my email address in my name makes it a little harder to see who I am right away. 

If you want to make it easy for people to invite you by putting your email in one of your current occupation spaces, it is easy.  First go to “Profile” and chose “Edit Profile”.  Now look right under the current occupations you have listed now and click “Add A Current Position”.  On the next screen enter your email address in the part that says, “Company Name”.  Next Where it says “Title” enter something so everyone will know you are looking for connects.  Something like, “All Connections Welcome”. 

You want this to show as a current occupation so make sure to check the box that says, “I currently work here” and enter a date you started.  I used the date I started to get active on LinkedIn.  While having this as a current occupation I don’t want my headline to change.  This is a choice you need to make.  If you want this to be your headline (headlines show right below your name in searches) leave the headline box checked.  If you want to keep your current headline uncheck the box.  I unchecked the box because I already have my email in my name. 

It is important to remember that LinkedIn will think this is one of your occupations and post it like an occupation.  There’s one more thing you can do to make this a really effective tool for getting invites.  There’s a text box that says “Description” use this to let viewers of your profile know why you want to connect with them.  Give the viewer a reason why he will benefit from a connection with you.  Next just click save changes.  View my profile to see how this looks when you are done. 

If you believe this tip or any tips in this blog will contribute to the success of your LinkedIn experience, I hope you will give me just a few minutes of your time to help with my success and share my LinkedIn profile with some of your connections.  Please read the “If My Tips Help You, Please Help Me” section of the blog to find out how to help me.  You will find this section next to where it says home at the bottom of the picture on this page.   By following this suggestion it will help you with your network too. 

About taxdude8422

Basically I am just a tax nerd, have been all my life. However I have found the more open you are to opportunities the better off you will be in this world. That makes my what is know as an open networker on Linkedin, I will connect with anyone. I am not an expert on Linkedin by any means but one day when I was asking someone to connect I mentioned that I had just been refilled on invites. My new connect asked how I did that. I used that same line for the next month and got asked the same question four times. I started thinking there was a lot of little things it took my sometime to learn. Through this blog I plan to share some of those "Linked Secrets"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

