Thanks for the reply. I know people need what I do (on the side, actually, my day job is a tech writer for a defense contractor) but how to connect from knowing they need it to telling them they need it without turning them off and being needy or pushy. I’m not a salesman by nature, though when I’m sold on something I can be convincing. I’m doing some SEO jobs on the side in the Private Investigations field but nothing consistent. It’s a fascinating niche and a whole subculture once you get into it. I’m in their groups, and trying to connect but it’s slow going.

Mostly just getting a kazillion connects.  Didn’t really get too many people asking about taxes when I had 500 connects.  I have about 4,000 now.  When I got to about 1,000 I started spending a little time really trying to get connects.  And then I started a blog.  So when you make connects or post on a blog your network mostly hears about it.  99% miss it, maybe 99.99% but some people notice.  There’s a post on the “LinkedIn Connection Secrets” blog.  It is a true story about my mom building her business.  I think it is the bridge.  People get connected and see you doing things, you have a chance. 

People using LI to market directly, they are missing the boat and I would be surprised if they were successful.  There’s a couple and I don’t mean to bash anyone.  But for example “mobile marketing” where they text cell phones or another one is “send out cards” probably both great concepts but when someone connects with me and then wants to immediately try to sell me their sending me coupons to my cell phone.  Well maybe a great idea but their emails are getting deleted.  They haven’t even come close to making me feel a need.  If that same guy was really selling these things and started a blog showing what he texts and giving some results and he was connected to enough people he would find people calling him. 

LinkedIn is a strange new world.  When you think about advertising in the past it was a matter of sending out enough mailers or running enough newspaper ads eventually you would get seen.  Run a newspaper ad and it goes out to 50,000 people if you run them, enough people will get to know you and the phone will ring (in the past).  IMHO is that in todays world that is too expensive and newspapers are obsolete.  But when your’re on the net or LI or blogging whatever it is, not running ads.  Think of it like this.  Suppose you have a house and are about to lose it in foreclosure, you’re worried about tax consequences, so you Google foreclosure, taxes, residence, something like that.  If you see an ad for a tax business it gives you nothing, right, doesn’t help you at all.  Suppose you come across a page where a tax nerd explains what happens.  Well maybe you learn and nothing more.  However some people will learn and think gee this is complicated this guy understands what he is doing I want him figuring it out for me.  I think we have to have a new mindset when it comes to potential clients.  There’s a lot of science about how many “touches” you need to convert a prospect to a client.  I think it is 12 touches.  If you try to send me 12 email advertisements you will be spam after 2 or 3.  So you have to touch me without advertising until I see the need for you. 

There’s my two cents.  Just happened to be on my mind tonight. 

If you believe this tip or any tips in this blog will contribute to the success of your LinkedIn experience, I hope you will give me just a few minutes of your time to help with my success and share my LinkedIn profile with some of your connections.  Please read the “If My Tips Help You, Please Help Me” section of the blog to find out how to help me.  You will find this section next to where it says home at the bottom of the picture on this page.   By following this suggestion it will help you with your network too.

About taxdude8422

Basically I am just a tax nerd, have been all my life. However I have found the more open you are to opportunities the better off you will be in this world. That makes my what is know as an open networker on Linkedin, I will connect with anyone. I am not an expert on Linkedin by any means but one day when I was asking someone to connect I mentioned that I had just been refilled on invites. My new connect asked how I did that. I used that same line for the next month and got asked the same question four times. I started thinking there was a lot of little things it took my sometime to learn. Through this blog I plan to share some of those "Linked Secrets"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanks for the reply. I know people need what I do (on the side, actually, my day job is a tech writer for a defense contractor) but how to connect from knowing they need it to telling them they need it without turning them off and being needy or pushy. I’m not a salesman by nature, though when I’m sold on something I can be convincing. I’m doing some SEO jobs on the side in the Private Investigations field but nothing consistent. It’s a fascinating niche and a whole subculture once you get into it. I’m in their groups, and trying to connect but it’s slow going.

  1. George says:

    That’s good advice from an astute observer of marketing. Add to newspapers the yellow pages as a passe mode of advertising. Hitting the target is getting harder.

  2. sandiroggow says:

    It is easy to see that you are well versed in what you talk about. Thank you for linking in with me. I look forward to learning from your blog. You are an expert in an area I need a lot of help with, taxes, social media, etc.

    Sandi

Leave a Reply

