Good morning Ray, what do you recommend as my invite reason, and is it acceptable to let her know what I am interested in? Insurance agent candidates? Thank you for your assistance as I have not extensively utilized LinkedIn…(

No problem, happy to help.

You don’t need a reason to invite Jonnie, because she asked me to share her profile with my connections.  She will accept your invite.  Just copy her email address and on the “Contacts” tab, pick “Add Connections”.  Paste her email on the right and hit send.

I am not sure Jonnie is a prospect for you but getting more connects will open your network and move you towards your potential prospects.  This weekend I am going to share your profile with some people that could be potential prospects.

When you send an invite you will get an email when it is accepted.  When I share your profile you will get invites.  I would suggest that you develop a “thank you” message to send in either case.  Something to work on is making this message be about the recipient, not you.  You know, you get a message that says: “Thank you for the connect, I can do this and I can do that, I will make things wonderful” and you think I can make you go away by hitting delete.  Try to develop a message that is about the recipient.  Don’t have one in mind right now but you will figure it out.

I wouldn’t push the idea that you are looking to change people’s careers right off.  Let me think on this.  But I think the whole idea behind LI is not really developing an email mailing list or sending out junk mail.  Maybe a blog would be good for you.  Insurance is currently being sold like a commodity, like where can you buy the cheapest box of Tide detergent.  It is a lot more complicated than that right?  So how about getting your current agents to give you some success stories.  You know, “George bought some cut-rate homeowners insurance, a review of his policy showed he wasn’t covered for a broken water pipe.  Here at Farmers we got him great personalized coverage without a big increase in premium.”  Something like that.

So set up a blog and link it to your LI website.  Post one or two things a week.  Maybe once a month send a note and mention in your thank you note to your connects asking, “has your insurance policy really got you covered?  Don’t wait until you need it to find out you made a big insurance mistake, read the blog on my profile to see if you could be like George who was wasting premium dollars on coverage that didn’t cover him, or Jane who because of the coverage she had could have had her wallet smashed along with her car if she had been in an accident.”  At the end of the email and the posts put a short message something like, “Farmers Agents get recurring income and build strong relationships with their clients by making sure their clients have the right coverage.  If you are interested in receiving generous rewards for helping people protect what is most precious to them, contact me today to discuss the opportunities we have.”  Create a line something like this- something not to long, and memorable, and use it everywhere.

It doesn’t have to be that, David, it is just an example.  It isn’t something I think you can make happen overnight.  One thing I think people don’t realize is using other means or marketing you would typically spend a lot of money to get a prospect.  With social media generally people don’t spend much money.  Life isn’t free.  I think social media can be very effective but you have to either spend money or time.  With LI if you aren’t going to spend 1-2 hours a day on it, in my opinion you might as well pay to do seminars.  I think LI can be more effective, it is easier to convert a friend than a stranger to what you want them to be but getting those friends isn’t going to happen without effort.

If you believe this tip or any tips in this blog will contribute to the success of your LinkedIn experience, I hope you will give me just a few minutes of your time to help with my success and share my LinkedIn profile with some of your connections.  Please read the “If My Tips Help You, Please Help Me” section of the blog to find out how to help me.  You will find this section next to where it says home at the bottom of the picture on this page.   By following this suggestion it will help you with your network too. 

 

About taxdude8422

Basically I am just a tax nerd, have been all my life. However I have found the more open you are to opportunities the better off you will be in this world. That makes my what is know as an open networker on Linkedin, I will connect with anyone. I am not an expert on Linkedin by any means but one day when I was asking someone to connect I mentioned that I had just been refilled on invites. My new connect asked how I did that. I used that same line for the next month and got asked the same question four times. I started thinking there was a lot of little things it took my sometime to learn. Through this blog I plan to share some of those "Linked Secrets"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

