I still don’t get how LI could actually guarantee a response. I have sent really important messages (at least to me) and have not gotten a response back from the recipient, neither via LI nor as a response to the email

Yes perhaps bad wording on LI’s part.  What they mean is if you don’t get a response you get to recycle the InMail.  When you think about it LI can’t force you and I to respond to a stranger’s mail right?  But there may be something else going on with your InMail.  I just used my last InMail for a day so I can’t give exact details.

There is something called an “InMail score”.  LI describes it a little different than this.  From my experience you have to send some InMails that people open and do not give you a negative response.  Once you get some of those you get stars.  You can see the stars at the bottom of the InMail.  I am pretty sure if you do not see stars on the bottom of an InMail you are about to send, it is sent to the LI account but there is no email notification.  Probably most LI members are not on LI everyday.  If there is no email notification very low chance you will get read.

I sent InMails for months before I realized this and got scored.  So how do you get an InMail score?  Like I said you have to send InMails to people who are not connections and get them to open them.  The way I did that is to send InMail to members of open networking groups inviting them to connect with me.  After a while I got some stars.  LOL.  I think my InMails get read now.  Still a low response.  It’s hard to measure because I now use InMails to send a welcome to new members in my area.  I haven’t really tracked how effective this is.  I just know I do get some local connects that do not have many connects so I believe some of the InMails are getting read.

If you believe this tip or any tips in this blog will contribute to the success of your LinkedIn experience, I hope you will give me just a few minutes of your time to help with my success and share my LinkedIn profile with some of your connections.  Please read the “If My Tips Help You, Please Help Me” section of the blog to find out how to help me.  You will find this section next to where it says home at the bottom of the picture on this page.   By following this suggestion it will help you with your network too. 

About taxdude8422

Basically I am just a tax nerd, have been all my life. However I have found the more open you are to opportunities the better off you will be in this world. That makes my what is know as an open networker on Linkedin, I will connect with anyone. I am not an expert on Linkedin by any means but one day when I was asking someone to connect I mentioned that I had just been refilled on invites. My new connect asked how I did that. I used that same line for the next month and got asked the same question four times. I started thinking there was a lot of little things it took my sometime to learn. Through this blog I plan to share some of those "Linked Secrets"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

